0 Menu

The Willowz – Fifth (LP)

by Willowz

$16.00 / On Sale

• Catalog #: TM013
• Release Date: 9/15/17
• Limited 12" vinyl: 100 baby blue, 100 baby pink, 100 ultra clear
• Artwork by SG Walker

BUY: iTunes
BUY: Bandcamp
BUY: Amazon


1. Don't Let Them See
2. See You Again
3. Just Can't Wait
4. Never Let You Go
5. Fair
6. Anyways
7. All The Same
8. Ana Lee
9. Now You Know
10. Lily









After an eight year hiatus, The Willowz are back. Following stints with Guards, Cults, The Last Shadow Puppets, Birds & CRX, the California-to-New York trio have returned with a new LP. FIFTH, due out September 15th via Thrill Me, sees the band build upon their punk rock roots to deliver a heavy mix of hard rock riffs and raucous hooks. Produced by lead-singer/guitarist, Richie James Follin, and mixed by drummer Loren Humphrey, the record blends slicing anthems with the band’s signature cool.

Since their days as a garage rock outfit in Anaheim, California, beginning when Follin met bass player, Jessica Reynoza, in 2002, The Willowz have quietly built their own cult following. Releasing their self-titled debut album in 2003, the band attracted iconic French filmmaker, Michel Gondry, who used their track, “Something” in his Oscar-winning film, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. From there, The Willowz recorded their sophomore album, Talk In Circles (Sympathy For The Record Industry), a 20-track punk rock opus filled with biting anthems from “Cons & Tricks” to “Ulcer Soul.” Named one of 2005’s best records by Rolling Stone, the band also contributed “Equation #6” to Gondry’s Science of Sleep. In 2007, the band teamed up again with longtime collaborator Paul Kostabi on Chautauqua (Dim Mak). Moving away from the punk influence of their early records, the album showcased The Willowz’ technical ability as they transitioned to an alt-country ‘60s psychedelic sound. They continued that evolution on 2009’s Everyone (Dim Mak), where the band married their hard rock roots with a pop sensibility, releasing a record as catchy as it was cutting.

Taking a break from The Willowz to work on their other projects, Follin, Humphrey and Reynoza have finally redirected their energy back to the band. With Fifth, the trio harnesses their hard rock spirit, releasing a thrashing series of hypnotic singles on love and lust. Through distorted harmonies and racing guitars, The Willowz prove they haven’t left. Just the opposite -- with renewed focus and a solidified sound, they’re just getting started.

The Willowz is Richie James Follin, Jessica Reynoza & Loren Humphrey
Produced by Richie James Follin
Mixed by Loren Humphrey
All songs by Richie James Eaton Music (BMI)


11/3 - San Francisco, CA - The Chapel *
11/4 - Pioneertown, CA - Pappy and Harriet's *
11/5 - San Diego, CA - Irenic *
11/6 - Santa Ana, CA - Constellation Room *
11/7 - Los Angeles, CA - Teragram Ballroom *

* w/ Cults